Eastern Soars to MAC Championship

The Eastern Michigan University men’s swimming and diving team added another Mid-American Conference title to its trophy case after winning the 2007 MAC Championship, here Saturday night at Alumni Arena Natatorium. The championship was a MAC record 26th overall for EMU. The Green and White finished first place in 12 of the meet’s 20 events en route to 1,008.5 points.

Dan Wohl was named the Senior Swimmer of the Year. He earned three individual MAC championships this year by claiming the 200-yard butterfly along with the 200 and 400-yard IM. D. Wohl placed first in the 200 and 400-yard IM races all four years of his collegiate swimming career, going undefeated at the championship meet in both races.

Peter Linn was named the MAC Coach of the Year. Miami collected the other three honors with Paul Ricard being named Swimmer of the Year, Chris Heaton named Diver of the Year and Travis Myers named Diving Coach of the Year.

The Eagles had 15 members of the All-MAC team with D. Wohl, Preston Revere, Don Ellison, Jason Piercey, Derek Roe, Jeff Montague, Steven Bowling and Mike Rowland garnering first team honors. Adam Wohl, Ryan Fulkerson, Steven Hill, Dan Kish, Andy Gantzer, Mark Kurtzer and Andrzej Olesinski were named second team All-MAC squad.

In the 1650-yard freestyle race Piercey finished second with an NCAA “B” cut time of 15:16.89. The Eagles also had the fourth (Hill), fifth (Bowling) and sixth place (Kish) finishers.

Montague emerged as the MAC champion in the 200-yard backstroke race with a 1:48.80 time. Kurtzer clocked in at third place in 1:50.98.

EMU finished in six of the top-eight placed during the 100-yard freestyle race. Roe (44.94) finished first with Revere (45.39) taking third and Rowland (45.89) finishing in fourth. Olesinski (46.30), Gantzer (46.45) and Ethan Crabtree (46.79) finishing sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.

Ellison won the 200-yard breaststroke race in 2:03.78, with Wohl (2:04.77) taking third and Chris Meyers (2:07.45) placing sixth.

D. Wohl captured his 11th individual MAC title of his career by winning the 200-yard butterfly race in 1:48.57. Fulkerson (1:49.63) finished runner-up in the race.

Mitch Kellerman finished fourth in the three-meter dive with a 284.40 score. Josh Olson (279.80) finished fifth and Matt Guinan (234.10) took seventh

The 400-yard freestyle relay team of Roe, Revere, Rowland and D. Wohl concluded the meet with another first place finish. The team clocked in at 3:00.68.

2007 MAC Swimming and Diving Championship
1. EMU 1008.5
2. Miami 801.5
3. Ohio 584.5
4. Buffalo 378
5. Ball State 349.5

Swimmer of the Year: Paul Ricard (Miami)
Diver of the Year: Chris Heaton (Miami)
Swim Coach of the Year: Peter Linn (EMU)
Diving Coach of the Year: Travis Myers (Miami)
Senior Swimmer of the Year: Dan Wohl (Eastern Michigan)

All MAC First Team
Paul Ricard (Miami)
Dan Wohl (Eastern Michigan)
Preston Revere (Eastern Michigan)
Donald Ellison (Eastern Michigan)
Nick DuPuis (Miami)
Jason Piercey (Eastern Michigan)
Derek Roe (Eastern Michigan)
Jeff Montague (Eastern Michigan)
Andy Amyot (Miami)
Griffin Marshall (Miami)
Luke Herlehy (Ohio)
Steven Bowling (Eastern Michigan)
Michael Rowland (Eastern Michigan)
Bobby Pampush (Ohio)
Chris Heaton (Miami)

All MAC Second Team
Dave Brown (Miami)
Adam Wohl (Eastern Michigan)
Zach Ruske (Buffalo)
Ryan Fulkerson (Eastern Michigan)
Ryan McHugh (Miami)
Steven Hill (Eastern Michigan)
Daniel Kish (Eastern Michigan)
Matthew Grubb (Miami)
Andy Gantzer (Eastern Michigan)
Blake Norman (Miami)
Kyle Hembree (Ball State)
Mark Kurtzer (Eastern Michigan)
Michael McDowell (Buffalo)
Tyler Post (Ohio)
Jason Reutter (Ohio)
Andrzej Olesinski (Eastern Michigan)